iPad love, how it all began.

I will always be indebted to Microsoft for my iPad.  Yeah, that’s what I said, Microsoft. 

About a year ago, while the original iPad was all the rage, a coworker and I went to a Microsoft Share Point conference.  We indulged in the free food, mingled with the other geeks, and sat through many a session about the awesomeness that is Share Point.  During all of this geekdom, I eventually made my way over to the Rackspace booth, where they were advertising the chance of winning an iPad.  The gimmick they had going was you would follow someone on twitter, then they would tweet to follow someone else.  This went on for about 15 or so follows and tweets, when, during the last session, I see the tweet to take your business card with the secret word written on the back to the Rackspace booth.  I immediately jumped up in the middle of the session and sprinted out of the room.  Upon arriving to the booth out of breath, I reach out with business card in hand to see two blank stares looking back at me.  Apparently, I got to the booth so fast that they had yet to be informed they would be taking these cards.

Needless to say, I didn’t win it for being the first to the booth, so I headed back to the final session and met up with my coworker for the closing keynote.  They began doing the drawings for all of the giveaways from the different booths.  The anticipation kept mounting for every card drawn and every prize awarded.  Digital cameras, software, gift cards, and even a Zune if I remember correctly.  Then came the Rackspace drawing.  The card was drawn, and the name announced.  Silence.

They say the name again.  Still nothing.

One more time just to make sure.  No one comes down to claim their prize.

So, they draw again.  Before reading the name, Jeff DeVerter (@jdeverter, whom I still follow to this day) starts saying that the card he just drew belongs to the guy who put in his card before we even knew…And I jumped to my feet, fist pumping into the air.

And that is how I won an iPad at a Microsoft conference.  So what’s the most ironic thing you have ever won?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 142 other followers

