60

I’m not talking about seconds in a minute, nor minutes in an hour.  This isn’t about how fast I was going in a 35, my favorite athlete’s jersey number, or even how quickly I can steal a car (Mr. Cage, you have nothing on me).  No, today, my Dad turns 60. For the next 8 months I will be half my Dad’s age.  It’s interesting to think about.  Have I achieved as much as he had at this point in his life? Where would I be or what would I be doing if he hadn’t been there for the past 30 years? All I know, is that I’m very thankful for my Dad.  So, Dad, thank you for

  • being at every game, meet, or race
  • coaching me on the court, field, course, and in the back yard
  • letting me help, even when it slowed your process
  • explaining everything, giving me a thirst for knowledge
  • knowing so much useless trivia (really, you should have been on Jeopardy)
  • after a long day at work, coming outside to let me beat you in horse
  • buying that swan computer, beginning of my career
  • knowing when I surpassed you in something and not pretending that wasn’t the case
  • coming to me for advise, you have no idea what that does for my confidence
  • a love of ramen, rice crackers, and sour things
  • teaching me how to split wood, skip stones, and fish
  • “letting” me mow the grass
  • passing along your ease of falling asleep, inability to grow hair on your head, and the altitude to see above a crowd
  • rescuing me from being swept out to sea, and being honest when you couldn’t touch the bottom
  • dragging us to a different Civil War battlefield every vacation
  • showing me that everyone deserved a chance to play, no matter how talented they were
  • not forcing me to play a musical instrument, even though now I wish you would have
  • for reflecting God, with your unconditional love, that no matter what, you loved me

and most importantly, for being my biggest fan, because I’m your biggest fan too.  Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

