Dynamic Church Conference: Day 2

Yesterday was a great day at DC11 in regards to what I learned from the different sessions.  Today was a great day in regards to what I learned about myself and my potential.  I feel empowered.  Some may say I’m drinking the cool aid, I say I’m seeing the vision.

Recently I’ve been feeling a little defeated in my job.  You win some battles, you lose some battles.  Well, I think I’ve been on the loosing end of a major conflict, and just wanted to throw in the towel.  DC11 has re-energized me for the passion in what I do, to be less of the IT guy and more of the visionary.  I am an outside of the box thinker, but I was overwhelmingly reminded of it today in multiple ways.  It was a nice boost to my morale.

So, with all of the sappy stuff out-of-the-way lets take a look at my notes from the day.

Keynote w/ Jenni Caltron

Judges 4:4-10,14

Jenni spoke about Deborah’s Confidence and outlined her Consistent Character, Humility, and Faith.  She also mapped out the 3 things we wrestle with in our jobs within the church; Fear (it holds us back from what God is calling us to do), Jealousy, and Insecurity (a Profound sense of doubt).  Jenni then went on to remind us that our worth is in Christ.

But what do we do with these items you may ask?  Replace fear and doubt with truth, replace jealousy with generosity, and replace insecurity with love.

But let every man prove his own work, and then shall he have rejoicing in himself alone, and not in another.  For every man shall bear his own burden.

Galatians 6:4-5

Sitting down with some other F1 users

I had a great discussion after lunch with some very motivating individuals (you know who you are).  They reminded me that I need to stop being the IT guy, and start being the visionary.  It was funny that they said that, because that ended up being the theme for my day.

Session 4: Contact Management w/ Matt McMaster

The main question we should be asking leadership: How should we be measuring success or failure. Then design your process and tools around being able to generate measurable data around their answers.

Tip: Creating a separate contact item for prayer requests and confidential prayer requests.  Then lock down the confidential item to a ministry with read access for only those that should see it.

I had never really grasped the full potential (or even the idea) of creating assignments via contact forms.  Very cool.  There was also a lot of discussion around attributing contact forms to households vs. individuals.  With all that was said, I still think it better to only attribute them to individuals.  That might just me, you can decide for yourself.

Session 6:  Return to Ministry Pt2 Building Successful Processes w/ Eric Soon

Let’s just get this out-of-the-way now, Soon is a rock star.  I took a lot of notes in his session, but then he said he would email the Powerpoint so I stopped taking notes.  They really wouldn’t make any sense if you weren’t in the class so I’m not even going to try.  Eric did say three really profound things.  The first was, “People and processes need to scale. You can’t use F1 like you do access.” He followed that up with this statement that I really took to heart, “Process (or the people) is the culprit, but technology is the scape goat.”  This makes so much sense.  Technology, working the way it was designed to, can’t mess up your process.  The problem is that your process can get in the way of the full potential of the technology.

And finally this gem, “Data management is like the washing of feet.”  It would have been better if he had said it in a Yoda voice and backwards, but what can you do?  “Washing of feet data management like… hmmmM”

You’re probably noticing that I only attended 2 sessions.  Well you would be correct. I guess you’ll have to wait and see what I was up to with the rest of my time.  Mwahahahaha.  Don’t you love mysteries?  It’s driving you nuts isn’t it?

Well that was my Day 2, how was yours?  Seriously, I know you people are reading this, leave me some love.

Leave a Reply

