Google+: On The Outside Looking In

If you haven’t been paying attention, everyone’s talking about Google+.  Google+ is supposed to be Google’s answer to Facebook.  My twitter feeds are lighting up with talk about this new fancy social media outlet.  Everyone’s making comparisons, asking for invites, or simply saying how awesome it is.  Truth be told, all of these people are Geeks.  Sure I’m one of them, but this time around I’m not on the inside.  I wasn’t quick enough for the first round of invites, nor have I received any yet from my fellow Geeks.  But I’m OK with that.

Yeah, I’d like to try it out, just to see what’s going on under the hood.  Yet, my opinion is Google+ is never going to really take off.  Why you ask.  Well, I have a few reasons, and here they are:

  • It’s not a new idea. Let’s face it (pun intended), when Facebook came out there was no one else doing social media.  Facebook was ground breaking.  I know you’re thinking, “what about MySpace?” Well, MySpace was never intended for what it tried to be, so it doesn’t count, and we’ve seen what happen to it.
  • Google+ initial adopters are Geeks.  When was the last time you saw something Geek driven really take off.  Unix?… Most of you just went, “huh?”  Facebook early adopters were college kids.  They wanted to use it to be more social.  Well, we’re all social now.  Geeks on the other hand look at the features, not what the features, in reality, are good for.
  • It’s already being compared to Facebook.  We’ve seen this before.  Every smart phone that has come out since the iPhone was introduced into the market has been compared to it.  Sure some of these other phones have had better individual features, but they haven’t been able to topple the innovation of the iPhone.  Facebook was the innovator, Google+ is the competitor.
  • My mom’s on Facebook.  Facebook made it when they crossed the generation gap of who was using it, but it took awhile for that to happen.  Older generations are not going to want to learn yet another social media tool.  Heck, I’m not sure I want to manage another one, even for just a transition time.
  • Everyone is already on Facebook.  Many people still think of Facebook as just a tool for social media.  It’s more than that.  It’s where we live.  For Google+ to take off, it would be like everyone in Ohio selling their homes and moving to Canada.  I just can’t see this happening.

I could be completely wrong.  Like I said before, I haven’t played with it yet so we’ll see what happens.  Those just happen to be some of my views from the outside looking in.

Leave a Reply

